Region M Planning Group

The Texas Water Development Board is constantly updating its data for our region’s water needs.

Stretching from the subtropical Gulf shores of Cameron County in the south and along the Rio Grande to the rolling, native range land of Maverick County in the northwest, the Rio Grande Regional Water Planning Area includes eight counties. Its major cities include Brownsville, McAllen, Laredo, Harlingen, and Eagle Pass.

Over 60 percent of the region lies within the Rio Grande Basin, with the Rio Grande being the region’s primary source of water. The largest economic sectors in the region are agriculture, trade, services, manufacturing, and hydrocarbon production. The Rio Grande, its tributaries, and an international reservoir system will remain the region’s primary source of water for the foreseeable future.

Region M Counties

  • Cameron
  • Hidalgo
  • Jim Hogg
  • Maverick
  • Starr
  • Webb
  • Willacy
  • Zapata